Kugeldistel mit Biene

History and Research

Ball thistle with bee
Image: Stefan Halle

The Institute for Ecology and Evolution arose from the former separate institutes of Botanical Systematics and of Ecology which where merged in the course of reorganisation of the Faculty of Biological Sciences in 2017.

The Institute of Botanical Systematics with Botanical Garden and Herbarium Haussknecht originated from 1949 when the Botanical Institute was divided into two. At the former Botanical Institute famous scientists such as Matthias Jakob Schleiden, Eduard Strasburger, Nathanael Pringsheim, Ernst Stahl and Otto Renner were teaching and doing research. Founding director of the Institute of Botanical Systematics was Otto Schwarz. The Botanical Gardende, which belongs to the institute, emerged from a ”Hortus Medicus” from 1586 and was established at its current location by August Johann Georg Bartsch (as the first director) and Johann Wolfgang von Goethe. The Herbarium Haussknechtde, also belonging to the institute, goes back to a private initiative by the pharmacist and botanist Carl Haussknecht in 1896. The herbarium was assigned to the university in 1923 and was moved to Jena in 1948. With more than 3.5 million specimen copies it is the largest collection of dried plants in Germany and ranks among the 20 most important herbaria worldwide.

Ecology has a long tradition in Jena, reaching back to middle of the 19th century. At that time the botanist Matthias Jakob Schleiden was already engaged in work on ecological relationships in plants. In 1866 the zoologist Ernst Haeckel framed the term ”Oecologie” to define a new branch within biology that studies the interactions of animals with their environment. The botanist Ernst Stahl, who was appointed to Jena in 1881, is regarded as the founding father of chemical ecology. The roots of the institute go back to the Scientific Section Animal Morphology, Ecology and Systematics founded by Hans Joachim Müller in 1968, from which the Institute of Ecology emerged in 1990 under the directorship of Gerhard Schäller. Internationally the institute became known due to long-term polar ecology research on King George Island/Antarctic since 1989, and the Jena Experiment that was initialised in 2002 and developed into one of the worldwide leading experimental study sites in biodiversity research.

The establishment of the new Institute of Ecology and Evolution in 2017 combines and focuses the shared scientific interests in evolutionary processes and functional biodiversity research. Characteristic of the scientific work are a close connection between theoretical and conceptual basics, empirical data acquisition with a focus on field studies, and population genetics.

Share this page
The Friedrich Schiller University on the social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the best practice club "Family in Higher Education Institutions"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page

Kugeldistel mit Biene

Geschichte und Forschung

Kugeldistel mit Biene
Foto: Stefan Halle

Das Institut für Ökologie und Evolution ist 2017 in Rahmen der Umstrukturierung der Fakultät für Biowissenschaften aus den beiden bis dahin eigenständigen Instituten für Spezielle Botanik bzw. für Ökologie hervorgegangen.

Das Institut für Spezielle Botanik mit Botanischem Garten und Herbarium Haussknecht entstand 1949 aus einer Aufteilung des Botanischen Institutes, an dem einst bedeutende Wissenschaftler wie Matthias Jakob Schleiden, Eduard Strasburger, Nathanael Pringsheim, Ernst Stahl und Otto Renner forschten und lehrten. Gründungsdirektor des Institutes für Spezielle Botanik war Otto Schwarz. Der zum Institut gehörende Botanische Garten, hervorgegangen aus einem 1586 angelegten "Hortus Medicus", wurde 1794 in seiner heutigen Lage von August Johann Georg Carl Batsch (als erstem Direktor) und Johann Wolfgang von Goethe angelegt. Das ebenfalls zum Institut gehörende Herbarium Haussknecht geht auf eine private Gründung durch den Pharmazeuten und Botaniker Carl Haussknecht im Jahre 1896 zurück, das 1923 der Universität zugeordnet und 1948 nach Jena überführt wurde. Es ist mit mehr als 3,5 Millionen Belegexemplaren die größte Sammlung getrockneter Pflanzen in Deutschland und zählt international zu den 20 bedeutendsten Herbarien.

Die Ökologie hat in Jena eine bis zur Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts zurückreichende Tradition. Damals beschäftigte sich bereits der Botaniker Matthias Jakob Schleiden mit ökologischen Zusammenhängen bei Pflanzen. Im Jahre 1866 prägte hier der Zoologe Ernst Haeckel den Begriff "Oecologie", um damit eine neue Teildisziplin innerhalb der Biologie zu definieren, die sich mit den Wechselwirkungen zwischen den tierischen Organismen und ihrer Umwelt beschäftigt. Der 1881 nach Jena berufene Botaniker Ernst Stahl gilt als Begründer der Chemischen Ökologie. Die Wurzeln des Instituts liegen in dem 1968 unter Hans Joachim Müller gegründeten Wissenschaftsbereich Morphologie, Ökologie und Systematik der Tiere, aus dem 1990 unter Gerhard Schäller das Institut für Ökologie hervorging. International bekannt wurde das Institut unter anderem durch die seit 1989 laufenden polarökologischen Forschungen auf King George Island/Antarktis sowie durch das 2002 begonnene Jena-Experiment, das sich zu einem der weltweit wichtigsten Biodiversitätsexperimenten entwickelt hat.

Durch die Neugründung des Instituts für Ökologie und Evolution im Jahr 2017 werden die gemeinsamen wissenschaftlichen Interessen an evolutiven Prozessen und der funktionellen Biodiversitätsforschung gebündelt und fokussiert. Kennzeichnend ist dabei eine enge Verbindung von theoretischen und konzeptionellen Grundlagen, empirischer Datenerhebung mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Freilandarbeiten sowie populationsgenetischen Ansätzen. 

Die Geschichte des ehemaligen Instituts für Ökologie ist in der folgenden Pubikation nachzulesen:

Köhler G (2016): 50 Jahre Ökologie (1965-2015) an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena. Eine wissenschaftliche Historiographie - Acta Academiae Scientiarum. 15: 149-151. PDF [pdf 4MB]

Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
  • Qualitätssiegel der Stiftung Akkreditierungsrat - System akkreditiert
Zurück zum Seitenanfang